BOARD DATE: 24 January 2012 DOCKET NUMBER: AR20110013867 THE BOARD CONSIDERED THE FOLLOWING EVIDENCE: 1. Application for correction of military records (with supporting documents provided, if any). 2. Military Personnel Records and advisory opinions (if any). THE APPLICANT'S REQUEST, STATEMENT, AND EVIDENCE: 1. The applicant requests upgrade of his discharge to general, under honorable conditions. 2. He states: "Since being discharged from the military, I haven't been in trouble with the law or even gotten a single ticket. I got married and my wife and I had another child, and bought our first house. I graduated from a Tech school in Heating and Air. I've been working at Eastman Kodak . . . since [October 2006]. I have a less than honorable, uncharacterized. I'm requesting it be changed to a [general discharge (GD)]. I applied to [a police academy], I've taken the civil service exam and had an interview. The test for [a fire department] is sometime in 2012. I know I did not honor my commitment, trust me I think about it every single day. I work hard and enjoy spending time with my kids. I know what integrity and honor [are]. I joined for all the wrong reasons back in 2005. Now I'm focused on being a cop or fire fighter. I used to have nothing to lose, now I have everything. I would like another shot at it. Serving as a cop I can serve, protect and give back to my community. I can show integrity and honor. I would give my life for my wife and kids. I know I screwed up, but I cannot fail my wife and kids. I'm asking to please consider changing my discharge to a [GD]. I got asked today by a hiring manager for a [heating ventilation air conditioning (HVAC)] job about my discharge. I'm tired of that making me look bad. 3. He provides a: * U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Settlement Statement * Kodak employee data * diploma from an HVAC program of study * Marriage License * DD Form 214 (Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty) CONSIDERATION OF