Applicant Name: Application Receipt Date: 2008/12/22 Prior Review: Prior Review Date: NA I. Applicant Request: Upgrade Reason Change RE Code Change Issues: The Applicant states in his electronic DD Form 293, "I received this discharge based on two events that occurred in a year period. Before that I had no incidents, or after that have I had any incidents related to alcohol. I was young, and was careless. I take full responsibility for my actions. Since my separation I have demonstrated that I am capable of service. I have been a police officer with the same department since 20030613. I am currently a field training officer, and serve on the response team. In addition, I have completed my Bachelors and Masters degree. I am in the process of acquiring my PhD in Psychology. I would like to join the Texas National Guard as an officer, but with my RE code being a 4 I fear this is not a possibility. I have enclosed a current copy of my resume, letters of reference from my CO and SSgt when I was in the army, and my unofficial transcripts for your consideration. Thank you for your time and effort. I hope that I have adequately demonstrated my accomplishments and earned your pardon. I would like to change the RE Code, but there is not an option for that in the box below". II. Were Proper Discharge and Separation Authority procedures followed? Tender Offer: NA See Attachments: Legal Medical Minority Opinion Exhibits III. Discharge Under Review Unit CDR Recommended Discharge: NIF Date: NIF Discharge Received: Date: 011110 Chapter: 9 AR: 635-200 Reason: Alcohol Rehabilitation Failure RE: SPD: JPD Unit/Location: 587th Signal CO, APO, AE Time Lost: None Article 15s (Charges/Dates/Punishment): None Courts-Martial (Charges/Dates/Punishment): None Counseling Records Available: Yes No IV. Soldier’s Overall Record Age at current enlistment: 20 Current ENL Date: 990929 Current ENL Term: 6 Years ????? Current ENL Service: 2 Yrs, 01Mos, 12Days ????? Total Service: 2 Yrs, 01Mos, 12Days ?