Applicant Name: ????? Application Receipt Date: 2011/09/23 Prior Review: Prior Review Date: NA I. Applicant Request: Upgrade Reason Change RE Code Change Issues: The applicant states: "As an E-5 in my early twenties, I made an error in judgement which resulted in UCMJ action. I tested positive for marijuana during a company urinalysis. The result was an Article 15, treatment in ASAP, and subsequently, a Chapter 9 General Discharge. Despite my actions while off-duty, my on-duty actions reflected my professionalism and adherence to Army values during my more than 5 years of enlistment (as reflected in my positive NCOER submitted by leadership after my positive test result). Since my discharge in 2002, I have remained employed at a children's hospital working as an ER technician, and attending nursing school, graduating with Honors in 2009. I became a husband and recently a father. During nursing school I trained at the VA in FL as an ER nurse, I precepted soldiers and sailors training in the Army's Special Forces program under SFC M.C..I now fully understand how errors in judgement made while young can follow through your adult life and career. During my discharge, the JAG lawyer mentioned Limited Use Evidence, stating that command used AR 600-85 and that the 19JUN02 urinalysis was part of ASAP. He stated that a Honorable Discharge was required and suggested I contact the Discharge Review Board. For the past 9 years I have focused on moving forward and in a positive direction with my life. I truly believe that I made a youthful mistake, and that my actions prior to, and following my UCMJ action, are a true reflection of my work ethics and character. Please consider my request to change my General discharge to Honorable. Thank you for your consideration in this matter." II. Were Proper Discharge and Separation Authority procedures followed? Tender Offer: NA See Attachments: Legal Medical Minority Opinion Exhibits III. Discharge Under Review Unit CDR Recommended Dischar