Applicant Name: Application Receipt Date: 2012/07/20 Prior Review: Prior Review Date: NA I. Applicant Request: Upgrade Reason Change RE Code Change Issues: The applicant states, "I believe the General discharge I received was excessive given the circumstances involved. My record will reflect that I was an excellent Soldier, and my performance evaluations will support this. Note from my DD 214 that I was awarded the Army Commendation Medal which I received for completing over 900 successful combat missions with my platoon while deployed to Iraq. You will also note from my record that prior to my DWI [sic] (which was my first) I had no offenses or punishments on my record. Prior to going on active duty, I served in the US Army Reserve for 1 year which included going to basic training during the summer between my Jr. & Sr. year of school I did so because I consider myself to be very patriotic. I was promoted to SPC in 18 months, a task that normally takes 24 months. I do not believe I was afforded due process under the UCMJ regarding my discharge. When I met with the Company Commander in regards to my DWI [sic], he assigned me to 2 weeks of additional duties, a 50% reduction of pay for one month, and a letter of reprimand from the Commanding General. Following my punishment, I received word that I was being processed for discharge, and I reported to the JAG office. A JAG Officer told me to do nothing until I was ordered to ACAP (out processing). Approximately 4-5 months later I was told to report to ACAP, and was subsequently discharged. For the 11 months following my meeting with the Company Commander I was assigned menial tasks that primarily centered around mopping the floors. Even though I was doing this job to the best of my ability I received adverse evaluations that were already produced and dated. I was not afforded the opportunity to comment on them which I believe was unjust. Additionally I was never afforded the opportunity for a hearing regarding the discha